December Things

22 Dec

Hubby’s Patriotic Round Ripple
Patriot RR - almost
Just not quite big enough, but I have 4 days left, right?

~~*~~

Handi Sani Holders
Handi Sani Holder
Aren’t they cute? Tis still the season, ya know…..the FLU season.
Directions can be found on my crochet hero’s Ravelry project page.

~~*~~

Now about this next square.
First, I’d like to introduce you to my 2010 BAMCAL colors: ILTY mid-green, cranapple stripe, and antique white. Something red will join them, but I have to find just the right one.
Second, this is a striking square, especially fitting for the Christmas season, but beware, it’s a bit twisty. I know it’s not just me b/c I see the twistiness in other photos of this same square. So, I decided to venture into blocking. Made myself a right nice blocking pillow with a pillow form, some batting and some cheap white cloth. Oh, and some duct tape.

Here’s the “before” shot. Falling Star

Here’s the “after” shot. Falling Star - blocked

See the tremendous improvement in this disobedient square after it was properly blocked? LOL, nah, me neither! If you could see them IRL you might notice that there is a bit less twistiness, especially in/around the variegated yarn section, but I can’t say I was blown away by the results.

Pattern: Falling Star by Melinda Miller

~~*~~

That brings me to this little troublemaker:
Winter Rose
I would say this is a modified version of the Winter Rose by Julee Reeves. The overall effect of the lone winter rose in the snow is definitely going on here and it will be the center square for my 2009 BAMCAL afghan. The only other square I did so much frogging on this year was the Center Heart Square.

~~*~~

Speaking of my 2009 BAMCAL afghan…the squares are ready for assembly. I will start that project after Christmas is over.

Merry Christmas – may you feel the Saviour’s love and wonder at His holiness this Christmas!

3 Responses to “December Things”

  1. Elaine December 22, 2009 at 17:07 #

    You blow me away!
    I know how busy you are with church, homeschool, and family yet you still find time to crochet such beautiful creations.

    That first square, is it one for January 2010 or is that for 2009? I really want to find some nice colors to attempt doing this again. There is a gal in who is also a member of my crochet guild that I believe said she is attempting to do this in 2010, she’s another who blows me away because she is a full time college professor, wife and mother of 2 young girls and still manages to create several crochet and knit projects each month (not counting what she does for charity). I really want to know where the 2 of you find the time to do all of this.

  2. Sheri December 22, 2009 at 17:31 #

    Aww, thank you Elaine. Hubby’s RR has technically been in the works since this summer. I like to start the center in the summer and then work on it throughout winter when it is cold and the blankets are warm and cuddly on my lap.

    I take my yarn bag with me almost every where I go. A stitch here a row there….gets the job done. Now with some of the squares I have to do them at home….with peace and quiet, so I can concentrate!

    The first square is the December choice for the 2009 CAL. I have enough squares for my afghan, so made this square up for my 2010 afghan.

    Give it another go! Many people are combing squares from different CALs and different years.

  3. seeker86 December 23, 2009 at 03:17 #

    Those squares are beautiful. The round ripple is very nice too.
    I like the idea of combing squares from different CAL years maybe I will have 12 squares by 2011 🙂

Leave a Reply

