Baby Blanket #1

18 Nov

Apparently, it is the season for another round of babies!  I don’t normally make baby blankets as shower gifts, but felt motivated to do so this time.   So, I set aside my ‘favorite project ever’ and began work on a round ripple for a baby girl.  This is what came of it.

Ainsley Grace Round Ripple

My color inspiration was this Double Treble Square I made last winter, but it didn’t quite come off in this larger project.  Still pleased with the blanket, just not thrilled.  I love the center of a round ripple!

This pattern is Gentle Waves Round Ripple by Michelle Rhodes at Mik Knits.

I used an I hook.

The yarns used are:

I Love This Yarn – buttercup, peach, pink

Vanna’s Choice Baby – pink poodle

finished with I Love This Yarn – aubergine

I wanted to use this RR pattern because there isn’t any holes in the peaks and valleys for little baby toes to peek through.  This is, however, the waviest RR of all the patterns I’ve used.  I don’t know if that is inherent to this particular pattern or something I was doing.

The last round is half dc to make it a littler firmer on the edges….it did want to curl a bit, but the weight helps keep that to a minimum.

2 Responses to “Baby Blanket #1”

  1. Oh Sew Tempting November 18, 2012 at 21:12 #

    Wow! This is gorgeous 😀 Thank you for sharing. Avis x

  2. jodysgirl94 November 18, 2012 at 23:30 #

    Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

