Camo Ripple

25 Jan

image_square
It is nice to have something else to post, so soon. This is a gift to my middle grandson who loves all things military and camouflage. I know he will love this!

The pattern is the same as my last couple of ripples – Lucy’s Neat Ripple Pattern.

Yarns:
ILTY dark olive, lt sage, brown, lt brown, and black
RHSS camo

Hook: my trusty I hook

Details are also on my Ravelry page – which is public – if you’d rather look at it there.

Directions for crocheting a straight border on a ripple can be found on the Wires & Yarns blog.

Border – evened out the ripple ends and sc on the long sides with camo.
2 rounds dc in black
1 round hdc, ch3, hdc around with lt sage
2 rounds of dc in granny stitch with dk brown*
1 round hdc with 5 hdd in corners with dark olive

*i turned these two rounds because of the tendency for the borders to want to curl up sometimes. It worked and it lays nice and flat.

image_medium2

Three upcoming/WIPs that will be started or are coming along –
1- Creeper afghan, that I just started today (one is a surprise and I already have another request for one of these – NOT surprised!)
2- 2014 BAMCAL afghan done in pinks, peach, magenta, and some other little bits added in for fun
3- bought the yarn (while it was on sale) for my youngest grandson’s Minnesota Vikings inspired afghan.

Wait — make that FOUR!
cowl/neckwarmer for hubby to wear to work – ILTY wool in black

2 Responses to “Camo Ripple”

  1. Elaine October 15, 2015 at 21:01 #

    I like how you kept to all the camo colors without making the whole thing camo, if you now what I mean. That is an afghan that should last your grandson years.

  2. Sheri October 17, 2015 at 04:39 #

    Thanks Elaine, I don’t think I could have done an entire blanket with the camoyarn. It would have driven my eyes bonkers.
    He loves this blanket! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

